Asbestos Accreditation App|ication **PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN INK**

APPLICANT’S NAME: IF RENEWAL — ACCREDITATION NUMBER:
(FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)

APPLICANT’S HOME ADDRESS (The way it is to appear on identification card):

ADDRESS: CITY: STATE: ZIPCODE:

PHONE: DATE OF BIRTH: SEX: HEIGHT: WEIGHT:
(MM/DD/YY) (M/F)

EMAIL ADDRESS:

DISCIPLINE FOR WHICH YOU WISH TO BE ACCREDITED (Check ONLY one discipline, a separate application form is required for each discipline):

l:l Worker l:l Supervisor D Inspector EI Mgmt. Planner EI Designer

D Air Monitor D Supervising Air Monitor D Roofing Supervisor D Roofing Worker

ACCREDITATION FEE (Check ONLY One): ALL OTHER DISCIPLINES:

D $25.00 Worker ] $100.00 First/Only Accreditation in Calendar Year (Jan. 1- Dec. 31)

D $25.00 Roofing Worker [] $75.00 Additional Accreditation in Same Calendar Year (Jan. 1- Dec. 31)

D Duplicate ID Card, all disciplines — $10.00

EMPLOYER’S NAME:

EMPLOYER’S ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:
EMPLOYER’S PHONE NUMBER: EMPLOYER’S FAX NUMBER:

TRAINING PROVIDER: DATE(S) ATTENDED:

NAME OF COURSE COMPLETED:

OATH

| hereby acknowledge that | have read and understand this application and hereby swear or affirm that the contents of this
application are true and correct to the best of my belief and knowledge. | acknowledge that any accreditation issued pursuant to
this application will be subject to revocation if issuance was based on incorrect or inadequate information that materially affected
the decision to issue the accreditation (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-23).

APPLICANT’S ORIGINAL SIGNATURE: Date:

**DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE -- FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY**

ACCREDITATION NUMBER: EXPIRATION DATE:
CHECK/M.O. NUMBER: AMOUNT PAID:
APPROVING SIGNATURE: DATE:

USPS Mailing Address: Express Delivery Address:

Health Hazards Control Unit Health Hazards Control Unit

NCDHHS - Division of Public Health NCDHHS — Division of Public Health

1912 Mail Service Center 5505 Six Forks Road, 2nd Floor, Room D-1

Raleigh, NC 27699-1912 Raleigh, NC 27609

Application for Asbestos Accreditation--DHHS 3699 (Revised 3/2025)
NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Health Hazards Control Unit



INSTRUCTIONS
For Completion of DHHS 3699 — Asbestos Accreditation Application

PURPOSE

Application for North Carolina Accreditation shall be submitted in order to receive a North Carolina accreditation number and photo
identification card for inspector, management planner, supervisor, abatement designer, supervising air monitor, air monitor, worker,
roofing worker and roofing supervisor per 10A NCAC 41C Section .0600, Asbestos Hazard Management Program Rules.

Contact the HHCU immediately if your NC accreditation photo-identification card is lost or stolen.

PREPARATION
All information is to be completed by applicant and must be filled out completely, typed or printed in ink. Pencil is not acceptable.

INSTRUCTIONS

Enter your full name, address, city, state, and zip code as you want it to appear on your photo identification card. Indicate
accreditation number if applying for renewal accreditation. Enter an email address if applicable. Telephone number should be
complete with area code. Enter your date of birth (month/day/year), sex (male/female), height (feet and inches) and weight (pounds).
The North Carolina Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Act considers work involving asbestos hazardous to the health of youths.
Accreditations shall not be issued to individuals who are not at least eighteen (18) years of age. Each applicant must submit his/her
correct birth date on the accreditation application.

Indicate the discipline for which you wish to be accredited (mark only one discipline per application).

Initial accreditation fee is $100.00 for all categories, except the fee for individuals applying for accreditation or reaccreditation as
worker or roofing worker is $25.00. If an individual applies for accreditation or reaccreditation in more than one category per calendar
year, the amount of the fee shall be $100.00 for accreditation or reaccreditation in the first category and $75.00 for accreditation or
reaccreditation in each remaining category. The fee for a duplicate accreditation card is $10.00. If your NC accreditation photo-
identification card is lost or stolen, contact the HHCU immediately.

Indicate Employer's name, mailing address, city, state, zip code and telephone phone number complete with area code. All return
correspondence will be sent via First Class Mail to the employer’s address provided unless otherwise requested by the applicant.

Indicate the name of the Training Provider and the name of the course successfully completed that corresponds with the accreditation
request. Indicate the dates the course was attended. Training provider information must be entered on the application before the
application is considered complete. Please note: the HHCU does not accept any online, virtual, or hybrid initial or refresher asbestos
training for accreditation purposes.

Read the OATH carefully. If any forged certificate or misinformation is found to exist, the individual may be subject to revocation of
accreditation. The application shall be signed and dated by you, the applicant. An original hand-written or electronic signature is
required on the application. No faxes will be accepted.

ADDITIONAL EDUCATION AND EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS

Per 10A NCAC 41C .0602, an applicant for initial accreditation shall have successfully completed an approved initial training course
for the specific category within the 12 months immediately preceding application, or, if initial training was completed more than

12 months prior to application, the applicant shall have successfully completed an approved refresher training course for the specific
category at least every 24 months from the date of completion of initial training to the date of application. Accreditations expire 12
months after the date of training, not the date of accreditation.

A Worker and a Roofing Worker shall have successfully completed an approved training course for workers.
An Inspector shall have a high school diploma or equivalent and at least three months of experience as or under the direct supervision
of an accredited inspector.
A Management Planner shall have a high school diploma or equivalent and shall be an accredited inspector.
A Supervisor shall have a high school diploma or equivalent — except that this requirement shall not apply to supervisors that were
accredited in North Carolina on November 1, 1989, and kept that accreditation current — and at least three months of experience as or
under the direct supervision of an accredited supervisor.
A Roofing Supervisor shall meet the requirements of a Supervisor but duties regarding asbestos are limited to Class Il asbestos work
involving only roofing products that are classified as regulated asbestos containing material.
An Abatement Designer shall have a high school diploma or equivalent and at least three months of experience as or under the direct
supervision of an accredited abatement designer.
Application for Asbestos Accreditation--DHHS 3699 (Revised 3/2025)
NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Health Hazards Control Unit


https://epi.dph.ncdhhs.gov/asbestos/pdf/AsbestosRules-020821.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2041%20-%20epidemiology%20health/subchapter%20c/10a%20ncac%2041c%20.0602.pdf

An Air Monitor shall work only under the supervision of a North Carolina accredited Supervising Air Monitor and shall have a high
school diploma or equivalent and at least three months of experience as or under the direct supervision of an accredited air monitor.
A Supervising Air Monitor shall have a high school diploma or equivalent and at least three months of experience as or under the
direct supervision of an accredited air monitor.

For additional training requirements and professional status requirements regarding Air Monitor and Supervising Air Monitor refer to
10A NCAC 41C.0602(c)(6)(B), .0602 (c)(7)(B), and .0602 (c)(7)(C) [amended eff. January 1, 2021].

REQUIRED SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION

Confirmation of training shall be in the form of an original certificate of completion from the approved training course bearing the
training provider’s official seal, or an original letter from the training provider confirming completion of the course on the training
provider letterhead, or an original letter from the training provider listing names of persons who have successfully completed the
training course with the applicant's name included.

If requesting initial accreditation in North Carolina after completion of refresher course(s), original documentation of successful
completion of the initial training course as well as all refresher courses is required.

When a high school diploma is required, attach a copy of the diploma or other written documentation from the educational institution.

When experience is required, attach work history documenting asbestos experience; this documentation should include the project
dates and number of days of experience, your specific responsibilities on each project, and the name(s) of the accredited individual(s)
under whose supervision you worked.

Enclose a check or money order in the correct amount depending on the accreditation requested. The Initial accreditation fee is
$100.00 for all categories, except that the fee for individuals applying for accreditation or reaccreditation as worker or roofing worker is
$25.00. If an individual applies for accreditation or reaccreditation in more than one category per calendar year, the amount of the fee
shall be $100.00 for accreditation or reaccreditation in the first category and $75.00 for accreditation or reaccreditation in each
remaining category. Make the check or money order payable to: NC DHHS - Health Hazards Control Unit. DO NOT SEND CASH.

Enclose one current photograph of the applicant per application submitted. Photographs shall be in color and 1% inch x 1% inch in
size with the applicant's name printed on the back. The HHCU will not accept photographs with headwear, sunglasses, profile, or
photos in black and white. Photographs that are not current, i.e., photos from old licenses or a copy of last year’s photo, will also not
be accepted. Applications submitted without photographs will be returned as incomplete.

For Additional Forms and Information
Please contact the Health Hazards Control Unit at 919-707-5950 OR go to our website at:
https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/asbestos

The Completed Application Form with Supporting Documentation should be mailed to:

USPS MAILING ADDRESS: EXPRESS DELIVERY ADDRESS:

Health Hazards Control Unit Health Hazards Control Unit

NCDHHS - Division of Public Health NCDHHS — Division of Public Health
1912 Mail Service Center 5505 Six Forks Road 2nd Floor Room D-1
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1912 Raleigh, North Carolina 27609

Application for Asbestos Accreditation--DHHS 3699 (Revised 3/2025)
NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Health Hazards Control Unit


http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2041%20-%20epidemiology%20health/subchapter%20c/10a%20ncac%2041c%20.0602.pdf
https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/programs/environmental-health/health-hazards-control-unit/asbestos-hazard-management-north-carolina
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