NC Application for Lead Abatement Activity – Individual Certification

APPLICANT'S NAME:	IF RENEWAL—CERTIFICATION NUMBER:						
	(FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)						
APPLICANT'S HOME ADDRES	SS (The way it is to appear on Identificat	tion Card):					
ADDRESS:		CITY:		STA	TE:	ZIP CODE:	
	DATE O						
		(mm	n/dd/yy)	(F/M)			
EMAIL ADDRESS:							
DISCIPLINE FOR WHICH YOU	I WISH TO BE CERTIFIED (SEPARATE AP	PLICATION FORM F	FOR EACH DISCIPLINE)):			
CERTIFICATION FEES – Check	conly those that apply:						
Applic	ation Fee	Examina	tion Fee	C	Duplicate	ID Card \$15	
🗆 w	/orker \$50	🗌 Wor	ker – No exam requir	ed			
🗌 Su	upervisor \$150	Sup	ervisor \$75				
 In	spector \$150		ector \$75				
	isk Assessor \$150		Assessor \$150 (2 e	exams)			
	roject Designer \$150		ject Designer \$75	-,			
				nal fee inform	ation		
		See attached in					
EMPLOYER'S NAME:							
EINIPLOTER 3 ADDRESS.							
	STATE	: ZIP COI	DE:				
EMPLOYER'S PHONE NUMB	ER: ()	FAX NUMBER:	()				
TRAINING PROVIDER:			DA	ATE(S) ATTEND	D:		
NAME OF COURSE COMPLET	TED:						
		<u>OATH</u>	1				
I hereby acknowledge that I	have read and understand this applica		_	ne contents of t	his applicatio	on are true and correct to	
the best of my belief and kn	owledge. I acknowledge that certifica	tion issued pursuar	nt to this application v	will be subject t	o revocation		
incorrect or inadequate info	rmation that materially affected the d	ecision to issue the	e certification (N.C. Ge	en. Stat. § 1304	23).		
APPLICANT'S ORIGINAL SIGN	NATURE:				DATE:		
	DO NOT WRITE	BELOW THIS LINE-	-FOR DEPARTMENT U	JSE ONLY			
			rc.				
CERTIFICATION NOWIBER.		EXPIRATION DAT	E				
CHECK/M.O. NUMBER:		AMOUNT PAID:		EXAM	DATE:		
					DATE		
AFFICING JUNATURE:					DAIL.		
	USPS Mailing Address:		Express Delivery Address:				
	Health Hazards Control Unit		Health Hazards Control Unit				
	NCDHHS – Division of Public Health 1912 Mail Service Center	NCDHHS – Division of Public Health 5505 Six Forks Road, 2nd Floor, Room D-1					
	Raleigh, NC 27699-1912		Raleigh, NC 27609	-			

****PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN INK****

INSTRUCTIONS

FOR COMPLETION OF APPLICATION FOR LEAD ABATEMENT ACTIVITY CERTIFICATION

PURPOSE

Application for North Carolina Certification shall be submitted in order to receive a North Carolina certification number and photoidentification card for inspector, risk assessor, supervisor, project designer, and worker per <u>10A NCAC 41C .0800</u>, Lead-Based Paint Hazard Management Program Rules (Abatement Activities).

Contact the HHCU immediately if your NC certification photo-identification card is lost or stolen.

PREPARATION

All information is to be completed by the applicant and the application **must be filled out completely**, typed or printed in ink. Pencil is not acceptable.

INSTRUCTIONS

Enter your full name, address, city, state, and zip code as you want it to appear on your photo identification card. The telephone number should be complete with the area code. Enter your date of birth (month/day/year), sex (male/female), height (feet and inches) and weight (pounds). Enter an email address if applicable. The North Carolina Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Act considers work involving lead-based paint hazardous to the health of youths. Certifications shall not be issued to individuals who are not eighteen (18) years of age. Each applicant must submit his/her correct birth date on the certification application.

Indicate which discipline of certification is being requested **(Mark only one discipline per application).** Indicate your certification number if you are applying for certification renewal.

Indicate the appropriate fee. The certification fee is \$150.00 for all categories, except that the fee for individuals applying for certification as a worker is \$50.00. The fee for a duplicate ID card is \$15.00.

Indicate the appropriate examination fee. The examination fee is \$75.00 for each examination scheduled. Successful completion of the appropriate examination(s) is required for all disciplines except Worker. Supervisor certification requires the supervisor examination (\$75.00); Inspector certification requires the inspector examination (\$75.00); Risk Assessor certification requires the inspector <u>and</u> risk assessor examinations (\$150.00); Project Designer certification requires the supervisor examination (\$75.00). If an applicant is applying for certification as a Supervisor <u>and</u> as a Project Designer, only one examination and one examination fee is required. If an applicant for Project Designer is already certified as a Supervisor, a second examination is not required. If an application is for renewal, an examination is not required.

Indicate the Employer's name, mailing address, city, state, zip code, telephone and fax numbers complete with area code. All return correspondence will be sent via First Class Mail to the employer's address provided unless otherwise requested by the applicant.

Indicate the name of the Training Provider and the name of the course successfully completed that corresponds with the certification request. Indicate the dates the course was attended. Training provider information must be entered on the application before the application is considered complete. Please note: the HHCU does **not** accept any online, virtual, or hybrid initial or refresher asbestos training for accreditation purposes.

Read the OATH carefully. If a forged certificate or any misinformation is found to exist, the individual may be subject to revocation of certification. The application shall be signed and dated by you, the applicant. An original hand-written or electronic signature is required on the application. Faxes will not be accepted.

For each certification renewal, submit a completed application, original refresher training certificate, a photograph (see below), and appropriate fees. For renewal of Risk Assessor certification, submit refresher training certificates for **both** inspector and risk assessor training courses and a fee of \$150.00. For renewal of Designer certification, submit refresher training certificates for **both** supervisor and designer training courses and a fee of \$150.00.

ADDITIONAL EDUCATION AND EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS

Per <u>10A NCAC 41C .0802</u>, an applicant for initial certification shall have successfully completed an accredited initial training course for the specific category within the 12 months immediately preceding application, or, if initial training was completed more than 12 months prior to application, the applicant shall have successfully completed an accredited refresher training course for the specific category at least every 24 months from the date of completion of initial training and within 12 months prior to applying for certification.

A Worker shall have successfully completed an accredited training course for workers.

A **Supervisor** shall have successfully completed an accredited training course for supervisors and shall have:

- (A) one year of experience as a certified lead abatement worker, or
- (B) at least two years of experience in a related field that demonstrates skills directly transferable to the job activities for supervisor.

A **Project Designer** shall meet the training requirements for supervisor and project designer and the examination requirement for supervisor and shall have:

- (A) a Bachelor's degree in engineering, architecture, or related profession, and one year of experience in building construction and design; or
- (B) an Associate's degree and two years of experience in a related field that demonstrates skills directly transferable to the job activities for designer; or
- (C) certification as an industrial hygienist, professional engineer, or registered architect; or
- (D) a high school diploma or equivalent, and four years of experience in building construction and design or a related field that demonstrates skills directly transferable to the job activities for designer.

An Inspector shall have successfully completed an accredited training course for inspectors.

A Risk Assessor shall meet the training and examination requirements for inspector and risk assessor and shall have:

- (A) a Bachelor's degree and one year of experience in a related field that demonstrates skills directly transferable to the job activities for risk assessor; or
- (B) an Associate's degree and two years of experience in a related field that demonstrates skills directly transferable to the job activities for risk assessor; or
- (C) certification as an industrial hygienist, professional engineer, registered architect; or
- (D) a high school diploma or equivalent and at least three years of experience in a related field that demonstrates skills directly transferable to the job activities for risk assessor.

REQUIRED SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION

Confirmation of training shall be in the form of **an original certificate** of completion of the accredited training course bearing the training provider's official seal, or **an original letter from the training provider** confirming completion of the course on the training provider's letterhead, or an original letter from the training provider listing names of persons who have successfully completed the training course, with the applicant's name included.

If requesting initial certification in North Carolina after completion of refresher course(s), provide the original training certificate of the initial training course, as well as all subsequent refresher course training certificates.

When a high school diploma (or equivalent), Associate's Degree, or Bachelor's Degree is required, attach a copy of the diploma or other written documentation from the educational institution.

When experience is required, attach work history documenting lead-based paint activities experience or experience that demonstrates skills directly transferable to the job activities specific to the discipline you are applying for. This documentation should include the project dates and number of days of experience, and your specific responsibilities on each project.

Enclose a check or money order in the correct amount depending on the certification requested. Make checks or money orders payable to: NC DHHS – HEALTH HAZARDS CONTROL UNIT. **DO NOT SEND CASH.**

Enclose **one photograph of the applicant per application** submitted. Photographs shall be in color and 1 ¼ inch x 1 ¼ inch size with the applicant's name printed on the back. The HHCU will not accept photographs with headwear, sunglasses, profile, or photos in black and white. Photographs that are not **current**, i.e., photographs from old photo-id cards or a copy of last year's photograph, will also **not** be accepted. Applications submitted without photographs will be returned as incomplete.

FOR ADDITIONAL FORMS AND INFORMATION

Please contact the Health Hazards Control Unit at 919-707-5950 **OR** go to our website at: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/lead

The completed Application Form with Supporting Documentation should be mailed to:

USPS MAILING ADDRESS:

Health Hazards Control Unit NCDHHS – Division of Public Health 1912 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1912

EXPRESS DELIVER ADDRESS:

Health Hazards Control Unit NCDHHS – Division of Public Health 5505 Six Forks Road, 2nd Floor, Room D-1 Raleigh, NC 27609