
I. STANDARDS FOR TRAINING AS INSTRUCTORS 
IN THE STANDARDIZED FIELD SOBRIETY 
TESTING PROGRAM 

SFST instructors will have successfully completed the NHTSA/IACP-approved Standardized 
Field Sobriety Testing (SFST) training program or its equivalent and will have experience in 
administering the SFSTs and in providing testimony in court in the area of DUI/DWI 
enforcement. Dedicated, qualified instructors are critical to the continued success of the 
SFST program. 

 
SFST instructors are responsible for observing, evaluating and verifying the 
performance of SFST candidates throughout the training process. Therefore, only persons 
experienced in the administration of the SFST battery should become SFST instructors. 
Also addressed in this section are standards for instructors/trainers in the program. 
These individuals are responsible for training the SFST instructors. 

 
2.1 Only persons who have successfully completed the NHTSA/IACP approved DUI 

Detection and Standardized Field Sobriety Testing training program, or its equivalent, 
may be designated as SFST instructors. 

 
North Carolina Standard: In addition to the IACP-approved DWI Detection and 
Standardized Field Sobriety Testing training program, an SFST instructor applicant must 
be recommended by a currently certified SFST instructor.  A SFST instructor candidate 
must show proficiency in the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests observed by a current 
instructor within 90 days prior to application.  

 
The SFST Instructor applicant must be a currently certified chemical analyst, have 
attended an Alcohol Screening Test Device course and completed the Advanced 
Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement course.  

  
2.2 Any SFST trained person desiring to become an instructor in the SFST program should 

follow             their departmental policies and procedures when applying for participation 
in the SFST program. The state SFST Program coordinator will ensure the applicant 
meets all qualifying requirements to be a SFST Instructor. 

 
Commentary: The agency head or SFST coordinator shall verify that a candidate 
instructor meets the prerequisites to enter SFST instructor development course training. 
Prerequisites may also include any state, local or agency requirements specified for 
instructors within the jurisdiction. 

 
2.3 Any SFST trained person desiring to become an instructor in the SFST program should 

follow  their departmental policies and procedures when applying for participation in 



the SFST program. The state SFST Program coordinator will ensure the applicant 
meets all qualifying  requirements to be a SFST Instructor. 

 
Commentary: This requirement does not preclude state or local jurisdictions from 
placing additional requirements on persons assigned to teach additional local law 
enforcement programs. 
 
North Carolina Standard:  Currently the only North Carolina accepted SFST Instructor 
School is the IACP/NHTSA SFST Instructor Development Course (IDC) or the IACP/NHTSA 
DRE Instructor Development Course.  

 
Upon successful completion of the IDC the instructor candidate shall complete four 
hours of instructor observed teaching and documented on the SFST Instructor 
Qualification Progress Log by two current SFST Instructors.  These teaching hours must 
be completed during a 24-hour SFST class.  Teaching hours during an SFST Refresher class 
are not authorized.  

 
The instructor candidate must also conduct a total of two dosing sessions monitored by a 
current SFST Instructor and documented on the SFST Instructor Qualification Progress 
Log.  Instructor Candidates must submit a complete and current CV to the SFST State 
Coordinator before being credentialed as an SFST Instructor. 
 
The instructor candidate has six months, beginning on the last day of the IDC to complete 
the requirements for credentialling as an SFST Instructor.  Instructor Candidates are 
prohibited from running a class as a lead instructor for one year following the IDC.   

 
2.4 All training sessions conducted as part of the SFST program shall be coordinated 

by a designated SFST instructor who has previously instructed, to insure proper 
content and delivery of the approved curriculum. 

 
Commentary: To ensure that all training classes are conducted in accordance with the 
standards, it is recommended that the instructor coordinating the training have a 
minimum of one-year experience as a SFST instructor. 
 
North Carolina Standard: All training sessions conducted, as part of the North Carolina 
SFST Program, shall be coordinated through the SFST State Coordinator.  The lead 
instructor/training coordinator for the class should have a minimum of one year of 
experience as an SFST Instructor.  The lead instructor/training coordinator shall be 
responsible for the training being compliant with established standards, curriculum, 
proper forms and documentation, and instructors' logs.   

 



North Carolina Commentary: The SFST State Coordinator or his/her designee may at any 
time without notice monitor, audit, inspect, and assess any portion or all SFST Training 
or related training and make a report to the Lead Instructor. 

 
2.5 An instructor trainer (a person who is training instructors) shall have 

demonstrated proficiency as an instructor. 
 

North Carolina Standard: The SFST State Coordinator shall designate qualified SFST 
instructors as instructor trainers.  Consideration for the designation of SFST instructor 
trainer shall be initiated by written request to the SFST State Coordinator by the SFST 
instructor desiring to become an instructor trainer.  Only SFST instructors who have been 
designated by the SFST State Coordinator to teach the SFST Instructor School will be 
allowed to instruct.  

 
2.6 An instructor trainer must be knowledgeable of and have audited the SFST School and 

the SFST  IDC training and must be thoroughly familiar with the SFST student manual and 
instructor guide. 

 
Commentary: An instructor must demonstrate evidence of the satisfactory 
completion of the NHTSA/IACP-approved Instructor Development Course or 
equivalent. Instructor trainers must be familiar with the approved SFST Training 
Program and be thoroughly familiar with the curricula for their assigned blocks of 
instruction. 

 

North Carolina Standard: In addition to the national standard requirements, the North 
Carolina SFST program requires that instructor trainers are approved by the North 
Carolina Technical Advisory Committee on Impaired Driving. The SFST instructor trainer 
must have participated in a substantive position in a minimum of four (4) SFST Training 
sessions with a minimum of forty (40) hours of instruction prior to consideration as an 
instructor trainer.  

 
 




